press release

Presented by the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki in partnership with Artspace, the Gus Fisher Gallery and St Paul Street Gallery


The 3rd Auckland Triennial addresses the condition of turbulence – the complex and unpredictable cultural and political environment in which we live. The artists in this exhibition engage with the emotional flux of their daily reality, responding to the ambient hopes and fears in our midst. They create aesthetic interventions – active, vital and alternative ways of looking at the world around us.

The artists in turbulence present their real and imagined expressions of sustenance and exile, ancestry and colonisation, trade and co-existence.

The Auckland Triennial is New Zealand's premier international contemporary art exhibition providing a window onto the art of today while creating a dialogue between local artists and their global counterparts.

Presented at venues throughout inner city Auckland, turbulence will include painting, sculpture, photography, video, installation, film, performance and collaborations between international and New Zealand artists.

For further information about turbulence: the 3rd Auckland Triennial or to sign up for updates please email

ARTISTS Full list announced 6 November 2006 Lida Abdul Afghanistan Chantal Akerman Belgium Vyacheslav Akhunov Uzbekistan and Sergey Tichina Uzbekistan Eve Armstrong New Zealand The Atlas Group / Walid Raad Lebanon/United States of America Carlos Capelán Uruguay/Sweden Phil Collins United Kingdom Donna Conlon Panama Shane Cotton Nga Puhi/New Zealand Christina Dimitriadis Greece/Germany Willie Doherty Northern Ireland Regina José Galindo Guatemala Carlos Garaicoa Cuba lexandros Georgiou A Greece Monica Giron Argentina George Gittoes Australia Fiona Hall Australia Mona Hatoum Palestine/United Kingdom Julian Hooper New Zealand Alfredo Jaar Chile/United States of America Isaac Julien United Kingdom Lucia Madriz Costa Rica Oscar Muñoz Columbia John Pule Niue/New Zealand r e a Gamilaraay/Wailwan people of NSW, Australia Julie Rrap Australia Michal Rovner Israel/United States of America Lázaro A. Saavedra González Cuba Sriwhana Spong New Zealand Yuk King Tan New Zealand Laura Waddington United Kingdom Lynette Wallworth Australia Areta Wilkinson Kai Tahu/New Zealand

Multi-artist project
Long March Project People’s Republic of China with Daniel Malone New Zealand and Kah Bee Chow Malaysia/New Zealand

Back to top


Celebrated Melbourne-based curator Victoria Lynn will curate the 3rd Auckland Triennial.

New Zealand's largest and most prestigious international contemporary art exhibition, is pleased to have attracted a curator of Victoria's calibre. Director, Chris Saines enthuses, "Victoria brings a wealth of knowledge to the exhibition. She is no stranger to biennales with involvement in Queensland's Asia Pacific Triennial, as the Australian Commissioner for the Venice Biennale in 2003 and as curator of Tarrawarra Museum of Art's inaugural biennial in mid-2006".

Contemporary curator at the Art Gallery of New South Wales for over a decade, Victoria more recently worked as Director, Creative Development, at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image, Melbourne.

Victoria sees the role of the Auckland Triennial as "stimulating and enriching the lives of the art communities, while also providing a window onto the world of contemporary creativity for a wider audience." Adding that "the Triennial looks both inward and outward: to the needs of the local communities and to the flux of international art. It creates a dialogue between the local and the global."

only in german

3rd Auckland Triennial
Kurator: Victoria Lynn

mit Lida Abdul, Chantal Akerman, Vyacheslav Akhunov / Sergey Tichina, Eve Armstrong, The Atlas Group / Walid Ra´ad, Carlos Capelan, Phil Collins, Donna Conlon, Shane Cotton, Christina Dimitriadis, Willie Doherty, Regina Jose Galindo, Carlos Garaicoa, lexandros Georgiou, Monica Giron, George Gittoes, Fiona Hall, Mona Hatoum, Julian Hooper, Alfredo Jaar, Isaac Julien, Lucia Madriz, Oscar Muñoz, John Pule, rea , Julie Rrap, Michal Rovner, Lazaro A. Saavedra Gonzalez, Sriwhana Spong, Yuk King Tan, Laura Waddington, Lynette Wallworth, Areta Wilkinson, Long March Project  (Daniel Malone, Kah Bee Chow) ...