press release

The Bow Arts Trust, East London's highly acclaimed and most active studio complex, is celebrating its 13th annual Open Exhibition this summer in the Nunnery Gallery. The summer show is traditionally curated by a high profile international guest curator in the past attracting celebrities like Graham Norton, David Dimbleby and Loyd Grossman as well as influential art critics and curators, such as JJ Charlesworth, Andrew Hunt and Myriam Blundell.

This year, Sarah Elson, an American art historian, curator and collector, has selected 18 artists from the vast pool of over 150 resident Bow Arts based artists to create Fault Line: Art in the Age of Anxiety.

"Military warfare, cultural warfare, economic recession, global warming, and physical dislocation are among an array of crises that this group of Bow Arts Trust artists, when challenged, speak of as being of grave concern to them." SE.

In a nutshell, it can be said that Fault Line is not only very ‘now’; it is also very 'us' and very 'here'.

The exhibition opens on Friday 19th June and runs till 18th July 2009, open 1.00-5.00pm Thursday to Saturday.

Exhibition catalogue available.

PDF catalogue on request.

Sarah Elson received her MPhil in Art History from Columbia University in 1990. A collector of contemporary art, she has had ten years’ experience as an advisor to corporate and private collectors, helping them build unique collections that have included site-specific commissions. She also writes about contemporary art, and develops curatorial projects and artist-led educational programs. She serves on the board of Penland School of Craft, as well as on several advisory committees, including the Princeton University Art Museum and the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

FAULT LINE Art in the Age of Anxiety
Kurator: Sarah Elson

Künstler. G. Roland Biermann, Louisa Chambers, Gordon Cheung, Silke Dettmers, Julie Fagan, Dave Farnham, Corinne Felgate, Paul Good, Catherine Hughes, Becky Hunt, Mark Maxwell, Clare Mitten, Erin Newell, Mark Selby, Suzana Tamamovic, Gabriel Tejada, Laura White, Janey Xuereb.