press release

Opening Night Wednesday, April 15 at 8:00pm US Premiere of Dialogues (2009) by Owen Land

Closing Night Sunday, April 19 at 8:00pm World Premiere of The Earth Is Young (2009) by Michael Gitlin

Feature Films

Alejandro Adams Canary

Erin Cosgrove What Manner of Person Art Thou?

Nikolaus Geyrhalter 7915 KM

Sharon Lockhart Goshogaoka

Alex Ross Perry Impolex

Steve Reinke Final Thoughts, Series One

Amie Siegel DDR/DDR

Oksana Bulkagowa The Factory of Gestures

Barry Doupé Ponytail

Laurent Gutierrez & Valérie Portefaix The City of Production

Jessica Oreck Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo

Lucy Raven China Town

Lee Anne Schmitt California Company Town

John Smith Hotel Diaries 1–8

Shorts by

Animal Charm | Stephanie Barber | Angelika Brudniak & Cynthia Madansky | Yin-Ju Chen & James T. Hong | Jacob Ciocci | Steve Claydon | Phil Collins | Cecelia Condit | Karel De Cock | Bradley Eros | EMR (Math Bass & Dylan Mira) | Kevin | Jerome Everson | Jim Finn | Phillip Gerson | Grey Gersten | Beatrice Gibson | Josephine Meckseper | Pavel Medvedev | Shana Moulton | Takeshi Murata | Sabine Gruffat | Barbara Hammer | Susan Hiller | Jesse Hulcher | Kent Lambert | Oliver Laric | Eva Linder | Jeanne Liotta | Johann Lurf | Darrin Martin & Torsten | Zenas Burns | Eileen Maxson | Jesse McLean | Pat O'Neil | Karthik Pandian | Steve Reinke | Ben Rivers | Michael Robinson | Nina Schwanse | John Smith | Stom Sogo | Jackie Sumell & Herman Wallace | Leslie Thornton | Robert Todd | Naomi Uman | Aaron Valdez | Erika Vogt | JD Walsh | Carlo Zanni

Special Programs

Screenings presented by 16beaver, Bidoun Magazine, e-flux, Bradley Eros and MonkeyTown.


Redmond Entwistle's work incorporates sculpture, photography and sound and employs various film forms but with a central concern for the space of cinema. He studied at Brown University, CalArts and the Whitney Independent Study Program. He won Best International Film On-Screen at Images 2008 for his expanded film and sound work Paterson – Lodz (2006), and was recently in the survey exhibition Nought to Sixty, ICA London. His work is distributed by Lux Artists Film and Video.

Jacob Korczynski is a curator based in Toronto. He has curated projects for the Art Gallery of York University (Toronto), the Dunlop Art Gallery (Regina), Vtape (Toronto) and SAW Gallery (Ottawa) among others, and his writing has been published in C magazine, Border Crossings, FUSE magazine, Ciel Variable and the Fillip Review. Currently, he is the Programmer at the Images Festival and a member of the Pleasure Dome programming collective.

Astria Suparak is the director of Carnegie Mellon University's Miller Gallery. She's curated exhibitions, screenings and events for art institutions, film festivals and alternative spaces internationally. Her writing will appear in the upcoming anthologies Live Cinema: A Contemporary Reader and A Microcinema Primer: A Brief History of Small Cinemas.


Migrating Forms is organized by Nellie Killian and Kevin McGarry, former directors of the New York Underground Film Festival. In October, 2008, the organization presented the world premiere of Jennifer Montgomery's Deliver, a feminist remake of Deliverance, at BAMcinematék. The annual springtime festival presents recent experimental film and video from around the world, bringing together work by filmmakers, video artists and visual artists using film and video, and situating it in the common context of the cinema.

Migrating Forms is the organization that grew out of the New York Underground Film Festival (1993 - 2008), presenting five days of new experimental film and video.

All screenings take place at Anthology Film Archives at 32 Second Avenue (and Second Street) in New York City. Map:

Visit to view the 2009 program.

Tickets are available online in advance for 8 USD and at the box office day-of-screening for 10 USD for information about tickets and festival passes

Stay tuned for future events in New York and elsewhere, and for news about the 2010 festival.

Join Migrating Forms on Facebook:

Inaugural Migrating Forms festival
Organisation: Nellie Killian, Kevin McGarry

Filme von Alejandro Adams, Erin Cosgrove, Nikolaus Geyrhalter, Sharon Lockhart, Alex Ross Perry, Steve Reinke, Amie Siegel, Oksana Bulkagowa, Barry Doupe, Laurent Gutierrez & Valerie Portefaix, Jessica Oreck, Lucy Raven, Lee Anne Schmitt, John Smith

Kurzfilme von Animal Charm , Stephanie Barber, Angelika Brudniak & Cynthia Madansky, Yin-Ju Chen & James T. Hong, Jacob Ciocci, Steve Claydon, Phil Collins, Cecelia Condit, Karel de Cock, Bradley Eros, EMR  (Math Bass & Dylan Mira), Kevin , Jerome Everson, Jim Finn, Phillip Gerson, Grey Gersten, Beatrice Gibson, Josephine Meckseper, Pavel Medvedev, Shana Moulton, Takeshi Murata, Sabine Gruffat, Barbara Hammer, Susan Hiller, Jesse Hulcher, Kent Lambert, Oliver Laric, Eva Linder, Jeanne Liotta, Johann Lurf, Darrin Martin & Torsten, Zenas Burns, Eileen Maxson, Jesse McLean, Pat O´Neil, Karthik Pandian, Steve Reinke, Ben Rivers, Michael Robinson, Nina Schwanse, John Smith, Stom Sogo, Jackie Sumell & Herman Wallace, Leslie Thornton, Robert Todd, Naomi Uman, Aaron Valdez, Erika Vogt, JD Walsh, Carlo Zanni