press release

The CAN’s team is trying to renew its quest from a permanently unstable point. To achieve this, it’s starting a cycle of exhibitions and events which will attempt to synthesize the CAN’s different practical and theoretical preoccupations, by trying to provoke a convergence of its institutional self-criticism and the exhibitions proposed in the white cube. This cycle, named Supercluster, will be made up of a succession of organically conceived sequences. They will follow, one after another, with no truly perceptible ending or start for each one. Thus the exhibition will be in permanent transition. The exhibition spaces and the offices will be progressively fused together to limit the separation between arts’ presentation space – usually freezing the exhibitions time – and its conception and realization, which remain in constant movement. It’s about residing and living in the art space, rather than making it live, willingly mixing praxis and theory, offering a favorable framework for apparition.

Supercluster will present works that can be conceived and produced on-location during the exhibition, as well as preexisting works. Diverse events (conferences, discussions, projections, concerts, performances, etc.) will be held. All this can exist as a spontaneous event, or to the contrary, be programmed before hand. The exhibition spaces will hold part of the offices, and will thus also be the place of conception for the successive transformations of Supercluster. Micro-editions (photocopied prints) will be conceived and printed on-location and throughout the cycle.

(exposition évolutive 18.05.2012 - 17.03.2013)

2nd Phase: Brain Morel

Supercluster’s second phase will focus itself on a vast thematic ensemble formed around the modification of perception and states of being. It will be explored through very diverse artistic positions in order to avoid restraining the interpretation of the different works to the curator’s point of view or the exhibition’s concept. We will thus invite artists that work on notions such as rhythm, breathing, trances, drugs, series, obsessions, the repetition of motifs or décor.

The apparent thematic liberty offered by Brain Morel still needs to infiltrate spaces with definite constraints. The exhibition floors will be divided into three extremely contrasted spaces. Two of these will be transformed by two artists that each propose an inhabitable work which will harbor the works of other artists. The first will be conceived by Mark Divo who proposes a structure inspired by curio-shops and follies. The second will be confided to Marie Hendriks who’s work consists of transforming spaces by deforming the bourgeois codes of interior esthetics. These two installations will be conceived so as to allow the reception of works by the other invited artists, which themselves are invited to react to this context. The third space will conserve its aspect, i.e. a great white cube, so dear to contemporary art. This last space will hold just one installation at a time, hence playing the demonstrative game, provoking a destabilizing contrast with the other spaces.

In continuity with Supercluster’s global project, the exhibition will be evolving: new works will be brought in en route, others will be augmented and some will disappear, at the discretion of the artists propositions. Intermediate openings will be organized to mark Brain Morel’s different stages of transformation. Furthermore, a part of the CAN’s offices will be placed in Mark Divo’s installation.

Experiencing the modification of states of conscienceness, often being associated with rhythm and certain auditory universes, several concerts will be organized on the exhibitions sidelines. For the opening, Damo Suzuki (ex-CAN) offers a live performance in the continuity of the Krautrock movement. Henrik Plenge Jakobsen is also invited to present a performance on Sptember 21st.

only in german



Künstler: Anna-Maria Bauer, Kim Seob Boninsegni, Ulla von Brandenburg, Philippe Daerendinger, Mark Divo, Fred Fischer, Marie Hendriks, Jerome Hentsch, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Gunilla Klinberg, Slavek Kwi, Jerome Leuba, Alexandra Leykauf, Beat Lippert, Hazem El Mestikawy, Timo Nasseri, Benjamin Valenza, Zimoun