press release

On 25 June 2012, PinchukArtCentre announced the 21 artists nominated for the Future Generation Art Prize. The art prize established by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation is a major new international competition for artists up to 35 to discover and provide long-term support for a generation of emerging artists, wherever they may live and work.

Following the open, free, and democratic online application procedure, the seven members of the Selection Committee, competent and global art-professionals, selected 20 artists from about 4200 applications coming from 134 countries and divided over all continents.

The 21st nominee for the Future Generation Art Prize is Mykyta Kadan, the winner of the PinchukArtCentre Prize 2011, a contemporary art prize awarded to young Ukrainian artists under 35.

The shortlist of the Future Generation Art Prize 2012 includes:

Jonathas de Andrade, 30 (Brazil); Marwa Arsanios, 33 (Lebanon); Micol Assael, 33 (Italy); Abigail DeVille, 30 (United States); Aurelien Froment, 35 (France); Mykyta Kadan, 29 (Ukraine); Meiro Koizumi, 35 (Japan); Andre Komatsu, 33 (Brazil); Eva Kotatkova, 29 (Czech Republic); Tala Madani, 30 (Iran); Basim Magdy, 34 (Egypt); Angioletti Meris, 34 (Italy); Ahmet Öğüt, 30 (Turkey); Amalia Pica, 33 (Argentina); Agnieszka Polska, 27 (Poland); Emily Roysdon, 34 (United States); Rayyane Tabet, 28 (Lebanon); Xing Yan, 26 (China); Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, 34 (United Kingdom); Joao Maria Gusmao & Pedro Paiva, 33, 34 (Portugal); R.E.P (Ukraine): Volodymyr Kuznetsov (35), Mykyta Kadan (29), Olesia Khomenko (31), Zhanna Kadyrova (30), Ksenia Gnylitska (28), Lada Nakonechna (31).

The nominees for the Prize represent 16 different countries. In terms of the continents and world regions Europe is represented by 10 artists; Middle East – 3; South America – 3; North America – 2; Asia – 2; and Africa – 1. There are 12 male participants and 14 female in the shortlist.

The Selection Committee chosen by the Jurors of the Prize formed the long-list of 470 artists and then made the final selection meeting in Kiev at the PinchukArtCentre.

Suzanne Cotter, the FGAP Selection Committee chairwoman: "Working with a shortlist of over 450 artists, pared down from an initial 4000, the selection panel was deeply impressed by the number, quality and global reach of artists who applied or who were proposed for the Prize. The process of selecting the final 20 shortlisted artists was an intellectually rigorous and passionate one that took many hours of discussion and debate. We were delighted by what we learned through this process and by the carefully considered shortlist which emerged. The panel was unanimous in its enthusiasm for the Prize as a vital platform for bringing to the attention of a broader public the kinds of artists and art that will guide us into the future."

Björn Geldhof, Artistic Manager of the PinchukArtCentre: "The composed shortlist of 20 artists is a dynamic overview on new ideas which are developing within young art scene, offering from 16 different countries the most advanced artistic positions which represent a future generation of contemporary art."

The exhibition of 21 shortlisted artists will open at the PinchukArtCentre on 27 October 2012.

The respected international jury will choose and announce the winner of the main prize who will receive a generous prize at the Award Ceremony on 7 December 2012 in Kiev, Ukraine.

An additional sum from the Foundation will be allotted to fund artist-in-residency programs to the special prize winner. Images of works by all shortlisted artists will be posted on the website, and members of the public will be invited to vote via internet for the People's Choice Prize.

only in german

Future Generation Art Prize
2012 shortlist

Nominierte Künstler: Jonathas de Andrade, Meris Angioletti, Marwa Arsanios, Micol Assael, Abigail DeVille, Aurelien Froment, Nikita Kadan, Meiro Koizumi, Andre Komatsu, Eva Kotatkova, Tala Madani, Basim Magdy, Ahmet Ogut, Amalia Pica, Agnieszka Polska, Emily Roysdon, Rayyane Tabet, Yan Xing, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, Joao Maria Gusmao & Pedro Paiva, R.E.P. Group  (Ksenia Gnylytska, Olesia Khomenko, Nikita Kadan, Zhanna Kadyrova, Volodymyr Kuznetsov, Lada Nakonechna) ...