press release

main prize winners: Carlos Motta (Colombia) and Nástio Mosquito (Angola)

special prize winners: Aslan Gaisumov (Russia), Nikita Kadan (Ukraine) and Zhanna Kadyrova (Ukraine).

The PinchukArtCentre announced the Selection Committee of the 3rd edition of the Future Generation Art Prize that will choose 20 shortlisted artists in 2014. The members of the Selection Committee have been appointed by the Jury of the Prize, internationally renowned professionals in contemporary art.

The members of the Selection Committee in 2014 are:

Raphael Chikukwa – Chief curator of the National Gallery of Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe) Proposed by Bisi Silva; Sun Dongdong – independent curator (China) Proposed by Philip Tinari; Bjorn Geldhof – Deputy Artistic Director of the PinchukArtCentre (Ukraine) Proposed by Eckhard Schneider; Simon Castets – Director of Swiss Institute (USA) Proposed by Fransesco Bonami; Giacinto di Pietrantonio – Director of the GAMeC (Italy) Proposed by Jan Fabre; Taiyana Pimentel Paradoa – Director of Sala de Arte Público Siqueiros-La Tallera (Mexico) Proposed by Doris Salcedo; David Riff – independent artist, writer and curator (Germany) Proposed by Adam Szymczyk.

The Selection Committee will gather in Kyiv in the middle of June 2014 to select 20 nominees for the 3rd edition of the Future Generation Art Prize. The shortlisted artists will receive an exhibition at the PinchukArtCentre in Kiev, Ukraine from October 25, 2014 till January 4, 2015.

Traditionally supporting young artists from Ukraine where the PinchukArtCentre is located, the winner of the national prize for young artists in 2013 Zhanna Kadyrova will also be included into the shortlist of the Future Generation Art Prize 2014, bringing the maximum number of artists in the exhibition to 21.

The International Jury will come to Kyiv, Ukraine, to select and announce the Main and Special Prize winners at the Award Ceremony in December, 2014.

The winner receives a total of $100,000: $60,000 as a cash award, and $40,000 towards the production of new work. An additional $20,000 is allocated to fund artist-in-residency programmes for up to five Special prize-winners.

Young artists up to 35 wherever they live and work can apply for the third edition of the Future Generation Art Prize till April 30, 2014 at the competition’s

To encourage the artists from all over the world to apply, starting from 2014 the Future Generation Art Prize will accept applications in 10 different languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Ukrainian.

Launched by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation in 2009, the Prize is open to all artists up to the age of 35 with the aim of acknowledging and giving long-term support to a future generation of artists from all over the world. The Prize is unique because of its global reach and highly democratic form of application via the Internet.

From its launch the Future Generation Art Prize and its idea to develop a network of young artists worldwide has been supported by its Patron Artists including Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, Andreas Gursky and Takashi Murakami. Besides providing advice and support for the winning artist, Patron Artists also present a solo show in the PinchukArtCentre parallel to the exhibition of shortlisted artists for the Prize. In 2010 and 2012 there were solo shows by Takashi Murakami and Damien Hirst.

A distinguished international Board oversees the Future Generation Art Prize. In addition to chairman Victor Pinchuk and the four Patron Artists, the Board’s membership includes Eli Broad, Dakis Joannou, Elton John, Miuccia Prada and art museum directors Richard Armstrong (Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and Museum), Glenn D. Lowry (The Museum of Modern Art), and Alfred Pacquement (Musée nationale d’art moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou).

Winners of the 1st and 2nd editions of the Future Generation Art Prize:

Main Prize winners: 2010: Cinthia Marcelle (Brazil), 2012: Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, UK.

Special Prizes winners: 2010: Nicolae Mircea (Romania), 2012: Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil), Micol Assael (Italy), Ahmet Ögüt (Turkey), Rayyane Tabet (Lebanon), and Marwa Arsanios (Lebanon).

Public Choice Prize winners: 2010: Nicolae Mircea (Romania), 2012: Meiro Koizumi (Japan).

Timeline of the Prize 2014

30 April 2014 Application deadline (applications are submitted online )

April – June 2014 Selection Committee to review applications and decide on a shortlist of up to 20 artists

June 2014 Announcement of shortlisted artists

October 25, 2014 – January 4, 2015 Exhibition of works by shortlisted artists to open at the PinchukArtCentre, Kiev. The winner of the national PinchukArtCentre Prize will also participate in the Exhibition

December 2014 Future Generation Art Prize 2014 Award Ceremony

May – September 2015 Like in 2011 and 2013 it is planned to present Future Generation Art Prize@Venice 2015 – exhibition of the shortlisted artists as a Collateral Event program of the 56th Venice Biennale

Artists may submit applications at from January 13 through April 30, 2014.

The International Jury of the Future Generation Art Prize 2014 includes: Francesco Bonami – curator, Director of the 50th Biennale di Venezia (Italy); Jan Fabre – Artist (Belgium); Doris Salcedo – Artist (Colombia); Eckhard Schneider – General Director of the PinchukArtCentre (Ukraine); Bisi Silva – independent curator, Director for the Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos (Nigeria); Adam Szymczyk – Artistic director of documenta 14 (Poland); Philip Tinari – Director of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing (China).

Selection Committee chosen by the jury will review all applications and decide on a shortlist of as many as twenty artists, whose names will be announced in June, 2014. These artists will participate in the Prize exhibition by showing the existing works they highlighted in their applications and may also create new works specifically for the PinchukArtCentre. The winner of the national PinchukArtCentre Prize also will participate, bringing the maximum number of artists in the exhibition to 21.

The exhibition of the shortlisted artists will be on view from October 25, 2014 to January 4, 2015. The international jury will gather in Kiev in December 2014 to view and discuss the artists’ works. The jury will select one main Prize winner, who will receive a total of $100,000 ($60,000 as a cash award, and $40,000 toward the production of new work). An additional $20,000 will be allocated to fund artist-in-residency program to the special prize winners.

Almost 60 Partner Platforms representing more than 38 countries will support the application process and the Prize in 2014. It shows how successfully the Prize has extended its global network and range to involve artists from different regions around the world, especially reaching growing regions such as South America, Australia, Africa and Oceania.

shortlisted artists
Neil Beloufa, Rossella Biscotti, James Bridle,Kudzanai Chiurai , Cecile B. Evans, Aslan Gaisumov, Ximena Garrido-Lecca, He Xiangyu,Jia Aili, Nikita Kadan, Zhanna Kadyrova, Mauricio Limon, Adrian Melis, Nastio Mosquito, Carlos Motta, Pilar Quinteros, Jon Rafman, Cally Spooner, Allyson Vieira, GCC , Public Movement

Raphael Chikukwa, Sun Dongdong, Bjorn Geldhof, Simon Castets, Giacinto Di Pietrantonio, Taiyana Pimentel Paradoa, David Riff.

Francesco Bonami, Jan Fabre, Doris Salcedo, Eckhard Schneider, Bisi Silva, Adam Szymczyk, Philip Tinari.